Mo Shuile Togam Suas

Search for the next Provost and Vice-President Academic

Executive leadership search


Our current Interim Provost & Vice-President Academic (Dr. Penny Werthner) term is up on June 30, 2024. As such, we have commenced the search process for the next Provost & Vice-President Academic of the University of Calgary.

The University of Calgary is partnering with the executive search firm, DHR Global on this search. All deliberations of the Provost & Vice-President (Academic) Advisory Search Committee will be conducted with full confidentiality for all candidates. Inquiries, nominations and applications are invited. Interested candidates should submit confidentially, in electronic form (Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF files preferred) a Curriculum Vitae, a 2-page summary of relevant accomplishments, and a letter of interest to by December 1, 2023.

At a high-level, our approximate timeline is as follows:

  • Late September – Onboarding meeting of Advisory Search Committee.
  • Early October – Early December – Job Ad is live and active recruitment is underway.
  • Mid-December – Meeting of Advisory Search Committee to review candidates and short-list candidates
  • Mid-January – First-round interviews and Advisory Search Committee meeting to determine second-round candidates
  • Mid-February – Second-round interviews 
  • March/April – Decision on preferred candidate. Contract approved by HRGC. Announcement occurs.
  • July 1 – New Provost & VPA commences term.

We have assembled an Advisory Search Committee that includes representation of our entire University of Calgary community.

Advisory Search Committee

Name Group
Ed McCauley President and Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
Kate Hamilton Kate Hamilton, AVP, Strategy & Performance
Dianne Gereluk Deans’ Council Representative
Gina Grandy Deans’ Council Representative
Wendy Benoit General Faculties Council Representative
Hieu Ngo General Faculties Council Representative
Lorian Hardcastle General Faculties Council Representative
Stefanie Hassel MaPS Representative
Barb McCutcheon AUPE Representative
Kent Donlevy TUCFA Representative
James Steele GSA Representative
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette SU Representative
Keely Cameron Alumni Association Representative
Nannette Ho-Covernton Community Representative
Committee Support:  
John Kincaid Executive Director, Office of the President
Shahauna Siddiqui DHR International (External Search Firm)
Lachie Woofter DHR International (External Search Firm)